David Lyons, Ryan Corr and Rupert Penry-Jones join Golden Globe winner Joanne Froggatt and AACTA Award-winner Damon Herriman.

A stellar cast of local and international stars have joined its upcoming Stan Original Series The Commons, including David Lyons (Seven Seconds, Safe Haven), Ryan Corr (Stan’s TV Week Logie Award-winning Bloom, Below) and Rupert Penry-Jones (The Strain, Silk, Whitechapel, Spooks), who will star alongside three-time Emmy Award-nominee and Golden Globe winner Joanne Froggatt (Liar, Downton Abbey, A Crooked Somebody) and AACTA Award-winner Damon Herriman (Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Stan’sPerpetual Grace, LTD.) in the blockbuster drama set to premiere this summer.

Also joining the acclaimed cast is Australian screen legend and TV Week Logie Award-winner John Waters (Mystery Road, Offspring, Rake), AACTA Award-nominee Fayssal Bazzi (The Merger, Stateless), Simone McAullay (Broadchurch, Blue Heelers)Andrea Demetriades (Seven Types of Ambiguity, Janet King, The End), Felix Williamson (The Letdown, Peter Rabbit, The Great Gatsby)Inez Currò (Picnic at Hanging Rock), Dominic Ona-Ariki (Jonah, Savage) and Zara Michales (Diary of an Uber Driver).

Produced by Playmaker, production has been underway throughout Sydney on the brand-new eight-part premium drama series created by AACTA Award-winning showrunner Shelley Birse (The Code), who wrote the series in collaboration with an award-winning team of Australian television writers, including Matt Ford (Hiding), Michael Miller (Cleverman) and Matt Cameron (Jack Irish). 

Stan Original Series The Commons is a character driven thriller set at the crossroads of climate change and the cutting edge of biotechnology. Set in the not too distant future, it’s a story about motherhood as the ultimate act of faith in humanity. Part mystery, part relationship drama, it puts a human face on what’s coming down the road and the heroism that lies inside us all when our backs are against the wall.

Directed by AACTA Award-winner Jeffrey Walker (Riot, Lambs of God), alongside Rowan Woods (Nowhere Boys, Rake) and Jennifer Leacey (Reckoning, The Secrets She Keeps), Stan’s latest Original production represents its biggest project to date.

The Commons is a Stan Original Series produced by Playmaker with major production investment from Screen Australia in association with Screen NSW. Financed with support from Stan, Sony Pictures Television will handle worldwide sales of the series.